Xav & Jul
Français

Back to Geoloweb.ch

Print page...

Photos - serie 1

4.3) Examples 4.4) Veins formation  

The crystallisation in these gashes, the pegmatitic texture and the presence sometimes important of tourmaline are indicator of a crystallisation from an aqueous fluid (Kerrick 1990 [reference]). This aqueous fluid has to be rich in aluminium to allow crystallisation of aluminosilicate and plagioclase in such abundance. Fluids seem to come from the near surrounding rocks and aluminium is probably transported as alcali-aluminous complex in fluids.

Biotite sometimes forms concentrations along vein border. These concentrations are interpreted as a rest of surrounding rocks after impoverishment of alkalis and aluminous phases by metamorphic segregation (Keller 1968 [reference], Klein 1976 [reference] et Kerrick 1988 [reference]).

To start mechanism of vein opening, a weakness zone is necessary, such as a fracture, shear plane, or pre-existing quartz veins. Release of local metamorphic fluids generates a fluid overpressure which will help to open the fracture perpendicular to the local main stress. Release of pressure in the veins will allow the precipitation of cations dissolve in metamorphic fluids (Si, Al, K, Na,...) and the crystallisation of quartz, plagioclase, aluminosilicates and white micas. The cycle can start again with a next peak of fluid pressure.

Border of Knauern
Enriched border with biotite in a kyanite-, andalusite- and plagioclase-bearing vein


Cristallisation of Ky parallel to gashes opening
Sample showing kyanite crystallisation, parallel to the opening (here N-S) of the vein



1) Introduction | 2) Structural | 3) Thermobarometry | 4) TENSION GASHES | 5) Cartography | Bibliography | Thanks
Aluminosilicate-bearing veines: 4.1) Mineralogy | 4.2) Structure | 4.3) Examples | 4.4) FORMATION

Info on copyright || Download the abstract | the publication (PDF)

Photo - serie 2

Uni Lausanne || Geology 2003-2005 © Xavier Maeder & Julien Allaz
Contact Webmaster (Julien)
Created: 10th May 2003
Last update: 3rd March 2012

Xav & Jul
English

Back to Geoloweb.ch

Imprimer la page...

Photos - serie 1

4.3) Exemples 4.4) Formation des veines

La cristallisation dans des veines de tension, la texture* pegmatitique* et la présence parfois importante de tourmaline sont indicateurs de cristallisation à partir d'un fluide aqueux (Kerrick 1990 [référence]). Ce fluide aqueux doit être très riche en aluminium, entraînant la cristallisation d'aluminosilicates* et de plagioclases en abondance. Les fluides semble provenir de l'encaissant proche et l'aluminium est probablement transporté sous forme de complexes alcali-alumineux.

La biotite forme parfois des concentrations le long de la bordure des Knauern*. Ces concentrations seraient le résidu de la roche encaissante après appauvrissement des phases alcalines et alumineuses par ségrégation métamorphique* (Keller 1968 [référence], Klein 1976 [référence] et Kerrick 1988 [référence]).

Pour enclencher le mécanisme d'ouverture de la veine, une zone de faiblesse est nécessaire, telle une fracture ou un plan de cisaillement*, notamment au niveau des veines de quartz préexistantes. La libération de fluides locaux engendre une surpression fluide* qui va aider à ouvrir une fissure perpendiculaire à la contrainte* principale. La dimiution de pression dans cette fissure va permettre la précipitation des cations dissous dans les fluides métamorphiques* (Si, Al, K, Na,...) et la cristallisation de quartz, plagioclase, aluminosilicate et mica blanc. Le cycle peut alors recommencer avec la surpression fluide suivante...

Border of Knauern Bordure enrichie en biotite dans une veine à disthène, andalousite et plagioclase
Cristallisation of Ky parallel to gashes opening
Exemple de cristallisation de disthène, parallèle à l'ouverture (ici N-S) de la fissure


1) Introduction | 2) Structurale | 3) Thermobarométrie | 4) VEINES de TENSION | 5) Cartographie | Bibliographie | Remerciements
Veines à aluminosilicates: 4.1) Minéralogie | 4.2) Structures | 4.3) Exemples | 4.4) FORMATION

Info sur le copyright || Télécharger le résumé / la publication (PDF)

Photo - serie 2

Uni Lausanne - Géologie 2003-2005 © Xavier Maeder & Julien Allaz
Contact Webmaster (Julien)
Création: 10 mai 2003
Dernière MàJ: 3 Mars 2012