Xav & Jul
Français

Back to Geoloweb.ch

Print page...

Photos - serie 1

Back to entry 1) Introduction 2) Structural Study

This diploma thesis focused on tectonic* and metamorphism* of the Alpe Larecc (Val Lavizzara, North of Ticino, Switzerland) around the main Lareccio anticline* (= Verzasca anticline), at the limit between pre-Mesozoic* metasediments* of the Campo Tencia unit and the Verzasca gneiss* complex on Simano nappe.

Metasediments are mainly micaschists* (figure on the left) and paragneiss*. Besides both micas (biotite and muscovite), plagioclase (5-25% anorthite) and quartz (ubiquist in those lithologies), garnet, kyanite and staurolite are also often associated. In some particular lithologies*, garnet and/or staurolite can form centimetric porphyroblasts*. The metasediment layers with porphyroblasts are irregular from millimeter- to decameter-size thickness. The sediment are composed of an alternation of argilous (micas-rich) and detritics (rich in quartzo-feldspathic material) deposits.

Thin section of micaschist Thin section of an amphibolite with associated paragneiss
Photographies of typical thin section of...
Micaschist with Garnet + Staurolite + Kyanite Amphibolite and paragneiss associated

Amphibolites* (in its broad sens, figure on the right) are composed of alternation of massive amphibolites (in the strict sens with often more than 75% amphibole) and paragneiss with amphibole (right figure). The amphibolite (strict sens) shows a mineral assemblage* with green hornblend (tschermakite), garnet, plagioclase (15-45% anorthite) and biotite. The local retromorphosis* of those rocks lead to the formation of epidote-calcite-chlorite assemblage.

Finally, augen gneiss* (figure below) are formed of feldspars porphyroblasts (plagioclases [8-25% anorthite] and K-feldspars), quartz and two micas (muscovite and biotite). In the border, porphyroblasts tend to disappear, leaving place to a leucocratic* facies, called border facies (light rose in the geological map). This facies is formed by a top to the North shearing* linked to the nappes* emplacement (see next page).
Augen gneiss with quartz, plagioclases and potash feldspars


1) INTRODUCTION | 2) Structural | 3) Thermobarometry | 4) Tension gashes | 5) Cartography | Bibliography | Thanks
Aluminosilicate-bearing veines: 4.1) Mineralogy | 4.2) Structure | 4.3) Examples | 4.4) Formation

Info on copyright || Download the abstract | the publication (PDF)

Photo - serie 2

Uni Lausanne || Geology 2003-2005 © Xavier Maeder & Julien Allaz
Contact Webmaster (Julien)
Created: 10th May 2003
Last update: 3rd March 2012

Xav & Jul
English

Back to Geoloweb.ch

Imprimer la page...

Photos - serie 1

Page d'accueil 1) Introduction 2) Structurale

Ce travail de diplôme porte sur l'étude tectonique* et métamorphique* de l'Alpe Larecc (Val Lavizzara, Nord du Tessin, Suisse), autour du grand anticlinal* de Larecc, à la limite entre les métasédiments* pré- Mésozoïques* de l'unité de Campo Tencia et les gneiss* de Verzasca, sur la nappe de Simano.

Les métasédiments sont principalement des micaschistes* (photo ci-dessous à gauche) et des paragneiss*. Outre les 2 micas (biotite et muscovite), le plagioclase (5-25% anorthite) et le quartz (ubiquistes dans toutes ces lithologies), le grenat, le disthène et la staurotide sont souvent associés. Dans certains niveaux particuliers, le grenat et/ou la staurotide peuvent former des porphyroblastes* centimétriques. Les niveaux de métasédiment à porphyroblastes sont irréguliers et d'épaisseur millimétrique à décamétrique. Les sédiments sont fait d'alternance de dépôt sédimentaires tantôt argileux (riche en micas), tantôt détritiques (riche en matériel quartzo-feldspathique).

Thin section of micaschist Thin section of an amphibolite with associated paragneiss
Photographie de lame mince type de...
Micaschiste à Grenat + Staurotide + Disthène Amphibolite et paragneiss associé

Les amphibolites* au sens large (photo ci-dessus à droite) sont formées par des alternances millimétriques à métriques d'amphibolites massives (au sens stricte avec souvent plus de 75% d'amphiboles) et de paragneiss à amphiboles. Les amphibolites (au sens stricte) montrent un assemblage minéralogique* à hornblende verte (tschermakite), de grenat, de plagioclase (15-45% anorthite) et de biotite. La rétromorphose* locale en faciès schistes verts de ces roches engendre la formation d'assemblage à épidote, calcite et chlorite.

Finalement, le gneiss oeillé* (photos ci-dessous) est constitué de porphyroblastes de feldspaths (plagioclases [8-25% anorthite] et feldspaths potassiques), de quartz et de deux micas (muscovite et biotite). En bordure, les porphyroblastes tendent à disparaître, laissant place à un faciès leucocrate* dit "de bordure" (rose clair sur la carte géologique). Ce faciès se forme par le cisaillement* en direction du nord lié à la mise en place des nappes* (voir la page suivante).
Gneiss oeillé à quartz, plagioclases et feldspaths potassiques

Pour plus d'information sur les minéraux, voyez donc le "webmineral" en cliquant sur un des liens suivant: muscovite, biotite, grenat, quartz, plagioclase, feldspath potassique, staurotide, kyanite (ou disthène), amphibole, épidote, calcite.



1) INTRODUCTION | 2) Structurale | 3) Thermobarométrie | 4) Veines de tension | 5) Cartographie | Bibliographie | Remerciements
Veines à aluminosilicates: 4.1) Minéralogie | 4.2) Structures | 4.3) Exemples | 4.4) Formation

Info sur le copyright || Télécharger le résumé / la publication (PDF)

Photo - serie 2

Uni Lausanne - Géologie 2003-2005 © Xavier Maeder & Julien Allaz
Contact Webmaster (Julien)
Création: 10 mai 2003
Dernière MàJ: 3 Mars 2012